Announcing the Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership

Women & Leadership Australia (WLA) is delighted to announce the 2022 recipients of the Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership.

Nominated by members of the public, the annual Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership celebrate exceptional women nationally who’ve led across various industries and capacities, specifically those who have made outstanding contributions to the narrative of leadership equality.

We are delighted to share that Christine Holgate, CEO of Toll Global Express, has been awarded the 2022 Australian Award for Excellence in Women’s Leadership.

Ms Holgate said of the honour, “I am truly humbled and proud to receive this award amongst so many inspiring female leaders.

“The last 12 months have been a very challenging period for many women.  Amongst the hardships, we witnessed women come together, stand up and speak out, exposing the harassment, discrimination, and intimidation of women, of all ages, occupations and beliefs in our country.”

WLA CEO, Suzi Finkelstein, said of the recipients, “The Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership are an important opportunity to shine a light on women's leadership and increase visibility to shift the dialogue and showcase role models for the next generation of leaders. Today we celebrate the inspiring leaders who have affected change and opened doors for other women by challenging inequities and disrupting the norms, all whilst navigating the complexities of a global pandemic. We are extremely thankful for their work and contributions.”

The State and Territory recipients are as follows:

  • Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward, CEO, Australian College of Nursing (ACT)
  • Lisa Cox, Disability Advocate and Media Professional (QLD)
  • Shivani Gopal, CEO and Founder, The Remarkable Woman (NSW)
  • Jahna Cedar OAM, Executive Director, IPS Management Consultants (WA)
  • Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM, Chief Public Health Officer, SA Health (SA)
  • Antoinette Braybrook, CEO, Djirra and Co-Chair, National Family Violence Prevention Legal Services (VIC)
  • Professor Kate Warner AC, 28th Governor of Tasmania (TAS)
  • Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr Baumann AM, Aboriginal Elder; Renowned Artist; Activist; Writer; Public Speaker (NT)
  • Dr Anne Walters, Chief Plant Health Officer (NT)


Award recipients will accept their awards at various WLA events throughout the year. To see more information about the recipients, click here.